PDA

View Full Version : Becks' Galaxy gazing triggers mad rush for cyberspace domain names!


charley
01-15-2007, 03:50 AM
LINK (http://www.newkerala.com/news4.php?action=fullnews&id=79411)


Soccer star David Beckham's decision to move to America, by signing up the five-year deal with LA Galaxy football club, has triggered a unique race - of buying domain names on the Internet!

A mad rush could be seen at the office of NetNames, which registers Internet domain names in the US, with people making a beeline for buying domain names related either to Beckhams' new football club, or his name itself.

By doing this, they can then redirect Internet surfers to expensive pay-per-click advertising sites, reported The Mirror.

One cyber squatter in Milton Keynes snapped up www.lagalaxy.org, www.lagalaxy.info and www.lagalaxy.co.uk. Meanwhile, in the States, others to sell quickly included www.davidbeckhamgalaxy.com, www.beckhamgalaxy.info and www.beckhamgalaxy.com.

Reckless
01-15-2007, 05:48 AM
a mad rush?
just a few people trying to make some money

if some new gadget comes on the market the same thing happens

charley
01-15-2007, 07:27 AM
Yea prolly.

I never would jump into this. It's just a fake play going on. I would never value anyhting for such domains.

Submerge
01-15-2007, 10:54 AM
I wouldn't rush to buy these domains personally. But lagalaxy.org is a decent purchase.

LaneyHosting
01-15-2007, 11:24 AM
I can't believe the team hasnt pre-purchased them to prevent this kind of stuff

charley
01-16-2007, 03:44 AM
Seems more and more are rushing for it.

aloksingh
01-17-2007, 03:07 AM
This is just some people who are trying to make their gains at first. It will all quieten down later.

aloksingh
01-17-2007, 03:08 AM
These are just some people who are trying to make small gains at first. It will all quieten down later.


Sorry for the double reply...It happened by mistake.

charley
01-17-2007, 03:33 AM
I can't believe the team hasnt pre-purchased them to prevent this kind of stuff

Umm, just checked the same. Someone else own's it. I guess they might dispute it for a trademarked name.