Tyler
01-18-2007, 01:39 AM
I've banned the member 'charley'.
After a conversation with him on AIM after several Private Messages on the forum, I banned him after he started to threat me by saying "You will pay for it on the Digital point forum".
It all started when I was checking the referrals area for our contest (http://www.publisherforums.com/referrers.php). I noticed that 'charley' had referred around 6 or 7 members, and noticed something strange.
All their usernames were small and simple 1-word names, several with website names, such as 'digg' and 'sedo'. Furthermore, none of the referred members had any posts.
I privately PM'ed 'charley' with the following message:
Hi Charley,
I'm contacting you to inquire on your referrals. Are these legitimate people or are they fake accounts being created by you or your friends?
For a referral to count, it needs to be a legitimate member, and one who hopefully posts...
Please be honest.
Tyler
He then replied asking me to look at the IP's, and then going on to say that he hoped I wasn't scamming him and that he has been scammed in many contests before.
I replied with:
Hi charley,
This is still very suspicious - the IP's do not match but there is other evidence suggesting that you created this accounts.
I may be forced to suspend your account if you cannot provide a truthful explanation.
Tyler
The reason I was still suspicious is that upon further investigation, while the IP's were indeed different, they were all registered under the same e-mail provider, mytrashmail.com.
Now, while this could certaily still be legitimate, adding all of these suspicious things together, I was still uncertain of the truth. Even so, I did not ban or do anything to 'charley' and was trying to sort things out.
This was when he contacted me on AIM. The conversation went as follows:
*** ACK **
I just noticed that after submitting this thread, after I directly copy/pasted the AIM message here it lost all the text and formatting. I should have saved to Notepad first I guess.
Anyhow, I don't have it anymore. If 'charley' posts the AIM message I'll check to see that he didn't edit it.
I also finished this thread with some text that was cut off:
I posted this as a pre-emptive defence in case 'charley' decides to carry out his libelous threat. I'm a very public person and am somewhat known in webmaster circles, running anything but a fair and professional contest would only hurt me. Why would I choose to run a 'scam' contest and risk everything over just a contest?
After a conversation with him on AIM after several Private Messages on the forum, I banned him after he started to threat me by saying "You will pay for it on the Digital point forum".
It all started when I was checking the referrals area for our contest (http://www.publisherforums.com/referrers.php). I noticed that 'charley' had referred around 6 or 7 members, and noticed something strange.
All their usernames were small and simple 1-word names, several with website names, such as 'digg' and 'sedo'. Furthermore, none of the referred members had any posts.
I privately PM'ed 'charley' with the following message:
Hi Charley,
I'm contacting you to inquire on your referrals. Are these legitimate people or are they fake accounts being created by you or your friends?
For a referral to count, it needs to be a legitimate member, and one who hopefully posts...
Please be honest.
Tyler
He then replied asking me to look at the IP's, and then going on to say that he hoped I wasn't scamming him and that he has been scammed in many contests before.
I replied with:
Hi charley,
This is still very suspicious - the IP's do not match but there is other evidence suggesting that you created this accounts.
I may be forced to suspend your account if you cannot provide a truthful explanation.
Tyler
The reason I was still suspicious is that upon further investigation, while the IP's were indeed different, they were all registered under the same e-mail provider, mytrashmail.com.
Now, while this could certaily still be legitimate, adding all of these suspicious things together, I was still uncertain of the truth. Even so, I did not ban or do anything to 'charley' and was trying to sort things out.
This was when he contacted me on AIM. The conversation went as follows:
*** ACK **
I just noticed that after submitting this thread, after I directly copy/pasted the AIM message here it lost all the text and formatting. I should have saved to Notepad first I guess.
Anyhow, I don't have it anymore. If 'charley' posts the AIM message I'll check to see that he didn't edit it.
I also finished this thread with some text that was cut off:
I posted this as a pre-emptive defence in case 'charley' decides to carry out his libelous threat. I'm a very public person and am somewhat known in webmaster circles, running anything but a fair and professional contest would only hurt me. Why would I choose to run a 'scam' contest and risk everything over just a contest?