PDA

View Full Version : Fraud e-gold mail


boron
03-05-2007, 03:31 AM
Someone is sending around FRAUD mails with "notices" that "your e-gold account was suspended". It looks genuine in the first second, BUT,

1. e-gold NEVER send any mails to anyone, if you haven't written them previously.
2. This fraud has just sent me mail on my OTHER e-mail account than that one which I subscribed with in e-gold.

************************************************** **


This email was sent automatically by the e-gold server because
your e-gold account has been deactivated.

We recently reviewed your account, and suspect that your e-gold account
may have been accessed by an unauthorized third party. Protecting the
security of your account and of the e-gold network is our primary concern.
This is a prevention measure, we have temporarily limited access to sensitive
e-gold account features.

To reactivate and access your account, follow these steps:
1. Click on the link below. If nothing happens when you click on
the link (or if you use AOL), copy and paste the link into the
address bar of your web browser.

https: www. e-go... You get a fraud link, which looks like from e-gold but it's not. DO NOT LOGIN THROUGH THIS. THEY STEAL LOGIN DETAILS THIS WAY.

The link will take you to our Account access page.


Due to the suspension of this account, please be advised you are prohibited from using e-gold
in any way, until your account will be confirmed. This includes the registering of a new account.

---------------------------------------------
Thank you for using e-gold!
---------------------------------------------

e-gold, e-silver, e-platinum, e-palladium, e-metal, Better Money, AUG, AGG, PTG, PDG are trademarks of e-gold Ltd.

************************************************** ******

If someone gets this mail, just go and login in your account by regular way and you'll see that probably all is allright. E-gold hardly ever suspend any account.

Mystic
03-05-2007, 10:42 AM
Report them to www.phishtank.com everytime you get one. It takes only 2 minutes. Opera uses Phistank and Geotrust's database in its phishing filter.

boron
03-05-2007, 11:21 AM
Report them to www.phishtank.com everytime you get one. It takes only 2 minutes. Opera uses Phistank and Geotrust's database in its phishing filter.

Many people got this, I know, someone will make a report. It also havent happened to me the first time.

Submerge
03-06-2007, 09:08 PM
This happens a lot, nothing new. Where ever money is involved, people will do this.

boron
03-06-2007, 09:48 PM
This happens a lot, nothing new. Where ever money is involved, people will do this.

The point is that this one sems very convincing for someone who doesn't know e-gold rules. My friend who is well experienced with money transfer just believed it was for real.

Most of my mates lost their money not using SRK (secure random keyboard), I have never had problems so far.

Arthur07
03-27-2007, 03:09 PM
I am always cautious of the e-gold, ebay, paypal type e-mails.